KOINONIA Greek Forum Login To Start Posting!
KOINONIA - Greek Forum
Profile | Active Topics | Latest Topics | Latest Replies | Popular
RSS Feed | Partners | Search | AFQ

» Forgot your Password?

All Communities
 History, Culture, Society
 New Hellenism
 greek meaning of foreknowledge, election, etc.
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Registration is closed. The Forum remains available only as a source of published information.

Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

georgeprok

USA
1 Posts

Posted - 17 Aug 2005 :  01:06:01  

There is a divide among christian groups about the meaning of predestination and election as found in e.g. Rom. 8:29 and I Pet. 1:2 etc.
This has led to extremes in interpretation such as hyper-calvinism and free will groups who attribute everything to free will and very little to God.
I'm Greek but I was raised in America and I'm not an expert in the Greek. I, personally, feel that man has a choice whether to believe in Christ and in christianity but also that God's Spirit is involved in the process. That it's not an either or concept or truth. Nevertheless, I feel helpless when sharing my thoughts with Calvinist's, for example, because I can not speak with authority as to what the Greek really says and means and whether it can be definitevely settled or that it's simply just a matter of doctrinal faith without any absolute definitiveness.
I sure would appreciate help in this area as I believe there is an answer which is absolute and unquestionable in the Biblical Greek.
Please help.
Thanks.
George

alex

22 Posts

Posted - 17 Aug 2005 :  12:13:18  

Hi George